North and South Photoblog

The other side of the box

Posted in Holmsund, Nightphoto, the box, Uffe Nordholm, Umeå, Västerbotten by uffenordholm on October 15, 2010
The other side of the box.

The other side of the box.

This is another view of this picture. I have taken this picture from a different place, and illuminated it. The “normal” thing to do, considering it was dusk in the forest when I took the picture, would be to use a flash. I used a torch instead (to any US reader: what the Britons call torch you call flashlight…). With the camera on a tripod, and the a large apperture, I started the timer on the camera, took a few paces off to the side and started waving my torch like mad, trying to illuminate only those parts of the scene I wanted lit. Mostly, I didn’t want to shine any light on the trees in the background.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] took this picture the same evening as my previous publication. What I like about it is the contrast between what I see as a delicate organism (the mushroom) and […]

  2. The wheel « North and South Photoblog said, on October 31, 2010 at 10:42 pm

    […] metres from “my” box is an old piece of machinery, with this cogwheel slowly being reclaimed by Mother Nature. From what […]

  3. […] snow, but still grows. And it’s growing on an old box similar to the one I have photographed several times […]

  4. […] is a recent favourite (it’s the lamp) inside an old favourite (the box: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5). Add the fact that is shot at night (well, with very little sun light) and illuminated with a […]

  5. Night box « North and South Photoblog said, on February 16, 2013 at 11:37 pm

    […] is the same box I have photographed twice before. Only this time the only light source was the red bicycle rear light I was waving around. Had you […]


Leave a Reply

